Tag Archives: Abu Dhabi

Past Winners at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Since the year 2007, the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix has captivated the Formula One world, yet it is only in 2009 that F1 racing proper started.  When Hermann Tilke was announced the designer, everyone wanted a glimpse of the amazing track the German engineer would come up with.

 Marvelous Tilke Design

From Circuit de Catalunya to Sepang in Malaysia, his race track designs have been acclaimed, and no one expected anything less with the Yas Marina Circuit. Well, when the first race was included in the 2009 calendar, it brought out more glamour than anyone had anticipated, especially with the day-night transition.

Recounting the Legends at Yas Marina

While the F1 calendar is only four races down the line, nothing excites more than getting some insight on your favorite circuits past winners. As the last race of the season, you can expect much drama come November 27th to 29th at the Abu Dhabi GP.

It is a long way there so why not look back at past winners on this amazing track? Here they are.

1.       Sebastian Vettel

The German has been hailed as a potential legend in F1, and the way he is racing for Ferrari confirms this.  He was the first winner on the track in the inaugural race in 2009 and won it again in 2010 and 2013. He is still in contention this year considering the ominous form of the Scuderia team.

2.       Lewis Hamilton

The year 2011, when Hamilton was on his way out of McLaren, proved one of the sweetest when he savored a win in the last race. The track has always proved tricky for the Briton, but in 2014, when the last race at Yas Marina also determined the championship winner, Hamilton was in excellent form beating his teammate Rosberg comfortably.

3.       Kimi Räikkönen

He is an enigma and no one, not even his bosses at Ferrari, understand the best he can give. Well, in 2012, the Iceman, as he’s known, showed the reason he features in the F1 champions list when he won at the Abu Dhabi GP. Could things get better this year for the Fin whose time is running out? Only time will tell and isn’t this what F1 is all about; thrill, anxiety and tension?

This year, the cars that will feature on the podium at Yas Marina will either come from Mercedes, Ferrari or Williams. This is how close the race is shaping up to be. However, you might get a surprise if McLaren will have recovered their form after reviving their partnership with Honda.